+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, SCCM 2012 in Technical; I have been playing around with it for a few months now looks pretty neat anyone else looking to move ...
    Thank Post

SCCM 2012

I have been playing around with it for a few months now looks pretty neat anyone else looking to move to it?

It did take me a good few weeks to get it fully working thats to certificates etc. There are quite a lot of good guides online worth following word for word!

Thank Post
    Did you use sccm 2007 before?, if so how does package deployment compare?

Thank Post
    Been using SCCM 2007 for a year now and they have added application deployment and using package deployment as a legacy option. Its a bit more complex but allows you to do more checks before deployment. It also has a cool application catalog where you can allow staff to install applications based on security groups. You can also have a request bases so admins have to approve.

Ross

Thank Post
    Is it clever enough now to know when the workstation has had its OS re-installed and re apply all allocated applications that have been pushed out using BITS? Thats my only annoyance with SCCM2007, if its not in the task sequence it does not get installed.

Thank Post
    One thing for SCCM 2012... is it possible to set a software deployment to run before the user logs on (i.e. so it works like GPO package deployment)

It's always seemed an oversight that you either have to have the machine on the login screen (doesn't happen here) or the user logged on (and you either have to kill processes before beginning installs or hope the program isn't open if upgrading). Either a pre-login deployment option or a way to lock the workstation to the user while deployment is taking place would be a lot more useful.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by gshaw View Post
    One thing for SCCM 2012... is it possible to set a software deployment to run before the user logs on (i.e. so it works like GPO package deployment)