+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, CONFUSED about OS deployment in Technical; Hi all, Fisrtly I apologise becasue I am a Noob to all of this. I am after some advice and ...

Thank Post

CONFUSED about OS deployment

Hi all,

Fisrtly I apologise becasue I am a Noob to all of this. I am after some advice and pointin gin the right direction. My current deployment strategy is as goes .... I install XP with all the latest patches, drivers, plugins, third party software such as Serif, Game Maker etc I then take and image with Symantec ghost (this is so i can edit it later if needs be). I then Sysprep the machine and take another image and call it e.g. image_sysprepped.

Now we are planning on phasing in some windows 7 machines and as I am aware they have brough tout WAIK. I have used this and can get a windows 7 machine to add to the domain etc but I can't seem to find anywhere I can install the third party software. Does this mean I need to install all my third party stuff from MSI and is my old method redundant or am I just missing something.

Kind Regards

SAP

Thank Post
    if your version of ghost is new enough you can continue doing what you are doing it does work but its not the way id go

in a similar vane you can make one image per pc type using wds and then just use that to deploy to pcs instead of ghost