+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem. in Technical; Hi, i am currently on a project whereby i am installing a deployment solution at several sites. i have this ...

Thank Post

Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem.

Hi,

i am currently on a project whereby i am installing a deployment solution at several sites.
    i have this problem now twice at two of four sites that have been targetted so far.

i am running WDS in native mode using a windows 7 boot.wim. i have setup WDS correctly, all the correct files are there, in the right place and all looks good. Until we try to deploy the image. i have been running WDS now for 6 months using a windows 7 boot.wim to capture and deploy 6 different XP images without a single problem.

i have captured an XP image and successfully uploaded it to the WDS server. when we select to deploy the image (now using the boot.wim instead of the capture.wim) it deploys and looks normal until the first reboot (which occurs following the unpacking of the windows files) at which point it reboots and displays the following error;

"Windows could not start because of a disk hardware configuration problem. Could not read from the selected boot disk. check boot path and disk hardware. Please check the windows documentation about the hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manuals for addtional information."

This is something that has occured with a couple of different laptops, the most recent is a Dell Latitude E5410.

anyone had a similar problem? can anyone shed any light?

cheers!

Thank Post
    Has ANYONE seen anything remotely like this before? any advice would be appreciated!

Thank Post