+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, Can't PXE boot properly in Technical; I wonder if there's anyone knowledgeable enough to enlighten me on this subject. We've just had a new system put ...
    Thank Post

Can't PXE boot properly

I wonder if there's anyone knowledgeable enough to enlighten me on this subject.

We've just had a new system put in and are using SCCM/WDS to build our computers. I don't think we've had any trouble imaging machines first time around, but any time we go to reimage a machine we have to delete it out of config manager first, according to the chaps who set the thing up for us, otherwise we can't image anything. This seems like a dumb way of having to do things to me, but being a complete newbie to the system I don't know any better. I miss having a system where we can just image on demand, and I don't understand why we can't do this with SCCM. My suspicion is that it will do what we want it to do but we don't know how to make it do it yet.

Not only that, but the method has so far not been foolproof as a collection of MSI Winds we have here needed reimaging but as far as I can see from the smspxe.log the guid of the machines has remained lurking in the database after we've deleted the machine from config manager leaving us unable to reimage. I tried creating bootable media for the Task Sequence, which booted but then gave up, saying there were no tasks for that client. How I assign the task to the machine I don't know.

The gaps in my knowledge are vast, and I would appreciate any suggestions for good self help guides because we're not getting the training we had expected to get when the project was started. I've seen lots of step by step "do this, then that, then this and you'll get this" kind of stuff but that's not helping me understand how it all works.

Thank Post