+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
O/S Deployment Thread, Ghost wont connect to get image off laptop in Technical; Im new to ghost. Ive just installed it locally on my workstation to have a play. I can deploy the ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Ghost wont connect to get image off laptop

Im new to ghost. Ive just installed it locally on my workstation to have a play. I can deploy the client to the laptop when Im trying to take an image from it. It reboots, but then it never connects back to my workstation to the Ghost Console.

Is it because im just running it on win7 and not a server?

Thank Post
    Firewall on Windows 7??

mb

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Martin View Post
    Firewall on Windows 7??

mb
    first thing i checked.. turned it off and it did the same..

Do i need to configure ghost to tell it what IP to use when it reboots, or should it just pick up from dhcp?

Thank Post
    PXE-booting should get it's IP from DHCP, but you might want to set Option 60 to "PXEClient" so the client knows to go back to the same machine for the boot image.

mb

Thank Post
    er, assuming you are using PXE

mb

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I have no idea.. Whats the default?

It reboots OK after I deploy the client to it, and then it sits there going: "trying to contact <my workatation> " over and over

and the ghost on my workstation just sits there going, waiting for connection

Thank Post
    Hi

If you are deploying it from the console have you set the correct nic card that it should use. What happens is when windows is running it uses the nic card driver from windows. Then when it reboots it reboots into a virtual partition and it uses the drivers you have specified for the machine. It it does not work it reboots into windows, but it it partially works it gets stuck in the virtual partition and you have to do a key combination to get out. I am sorry I dont remember it off the top of my head.

Richard

Thank Post