+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
O/S Deployment Thread, MDT task sequence to accomplish prestaging like RIS in Technical; Hi all, I am a long time lurker who has got a load of great info from this site which ...
    Thank Post

MDT task sequence to accomplish prestaging like RIS

Hi all,

I am a long time lurker who has got a load of great info from this site which I have been able to use in the schools I support. I work for an LA as a technician who along with my team support over 120 schools in our county.

I have been playing with deploying Windows 7 from a Server 2008 machine running WDS and MDT2010, I have been able to get the system set up and make changes to the default Windows 7 image which is deployed so that info is pre-filled instead of prompting the user.

I have got a lot of experience with using RIS/WDS Legacy to deploy XP machines which is what we currently use in many of the schools our team support. We use PXE boot to call the standard ms osc screens which prompt for username and password, In each OU we want to add machines to, we will have a user which has rights to join a machine to the domain.

RIS/WDS is set to respond to all machines and to create a computer account in the same OU as the user, this means when we log on with an authorised user we have the computer account automatically created in the correct place so any GPO is applied from the beginning, also it has the advantage that we dont have to prestage any machines in AD as the machine is created with the correct naming convention and incremented automatically (set by the username e.g. Class1 will give a computer name of Class1-01, Class1-02 etc)

The actual install of Windows is achieved by a modified .sif file so we can log on to a new machine and walkaway safe in the knowledge that the machine will do the rest for us.