+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
O/S Deployment Thread, Net-restore is now retired, looks like for good! in Technical; A sad day for the many that have come to love Net-restore for deployment. Version 3.4.6 is to be the ...

Thank Post

Unhappy Net-restore is now retired, looks like for good!

A sad day for the many that have come to love Net-restore for deployment. Version 3.4.6 is to be the last one.

Read the full article here:

Bombich Software: NetRestore

Thank Post
    Do you know anything about DeployStudio? It looks great but the documentation is pretty lacking.

I'm just getting started, trying to get a dual-boot deployment situation working.

Thank Post
    you can still download net restore if you want to use it. It's just that it won't be being updated anymore. As for deploy studio. I looked at it briefly when it was in beta but never used it for deployment. IIRC, you needed to have a server side app as well. I may loo into it again at some point but the net-restore was just simple to use (when it worked ;-))

Thank Post
    I understand. I was pretty close to getting NetRestore to work, but never quite got there. The docs for DeployStudio are pretty much useless, so I'm going back to see if I can figure out NetRestore. I just wish there was a good tutorial on how to do dual-boot deployments.

I found this forum recently and it sure seems like the place to post when I have questions about this sort of thing, though.

Thank Post
    I've always used netinstall/netboot. No multicast, but it's pretty quick still (on intels, nothing is quick on g5 or earlier)
    Last edited by DMcCoy; 17th November 2008 at 07:33 PM.

Thank Post
    what's the issue that you are seeing?
    I am in the middle of net-restoring myself at the moment so may be able to help. I have started a blog post and am half way through it. I will let you know when it is done.

Thank Post
    Well, thanks!