+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, Integrating MDT into SCCM in Technical; As I'm sure that those who use it will know, you can integrate MDT into SCCM . What I'm not ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Integrating MDT into SCCM

As I'm sure that those who use it will know, you can integrate MDT into SCCM. What I'm not so clear on is to the benefits that doing this gives you. I guess what I'm asking is, is it worth the effort?

My SCCM task sequences are relatively basic but they work well. What will introducing MDT into the equation give me?

Thank Post
    As someone who's introducing ConfigMgr 2012 R2 at the moment I'd like to understand this better too. I've been using MDT for a couple of years and have got deployment to a fine art, with applications targeted to departments, machines to OUs (allowing them to pick up the right printers through GPO), machines added to security groups, GPO application inhibited during deployment and so on. My understanding is that I can continue to use all these nice things in an SCCM environment, rather than having to make do with the limited OSD that SCCM includes.

What I'm not too sure about is how easy it is to import existing task sequences.

I think, to answer your question, if SCCM out of the box does the job for you then maybe you don't need MDT. But, as I recently heard someone say in this context, if a car dealer offered to throw in the sports kit for free then why wouldn't you take it? An MDT TS is no harder to set up (so far as I know) but can be much more flexible.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by birchanger View Post
    But, as I recently heard someone say in this context, if a car dealer offered to throw in the sports kit for free then why wouldn't you take it? An MDT TS is no harder to set up (so far as I know) but can be much more flexible.