+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, How to create a recovery partition? in Technical; Hi all, I have been using linux (Kubuntu x64 to be exact) for a few months and I use an ...

Thank Post

Question How to create a recovery partition?

Hi all,

I have been using linux (Kubuntu x64 to be exact) for a few months and I use an bootable Clonezilla USB drive to make and recover images of the system, and works great.

Now I want to make in the hard drive a recovery partition that will allow me to press a key or something similar when booting the computer and then go to a recovery option with what I can restore the computer to the default state.

I need all to be in the internal hard drive, not on a USB drive, and I need the recovery process to be easy to use (I don't wan't to have to select partitions or other options).

Mainly, I understand that making this can be a bit difficult, but I don't mind, the question is that the result, i mean, the recovery option must be simple and easy to use.

Anyone knows how could I do this?

Many thanks in advance

Thank Post
    Ive done this in the past using a program called PING (Partimage is not Ghost)

look here towards the bottom is instructions on how to use lilo boot menu to boot to PING and therefore restore an image.

takes a bit of setting up but as you said you don't mind that... here it is.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Admiral208 View Post
    Ive done this in the past using a program called PING (Partimage is not Ghost)

look here towards the bottom is instructions on how to use lilo boot menu to boot to PING and therefore restore an image.

takes a bit of setting up but as you said you don't mind that... here it is.
    Many thanks for the answer,

I assume that this is not going to be very easy, but my skills with linux are more basics than advanced by now, so I really thank if I have an easier way than another, hehe.

I'm going to look at the link you have posted me, I'll tell!!!

Thanks!

Thank Post