+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, Active Directory Across Many Schools in Technical; Hi guys. I am designing a system that involved deployments of machines across schools in different regions. I am thinking ...

Thank Post

Active Directory Across Many Schools

Hi guys. I am designing a system that involved deployments of machines across schools in different regions. I am thinking of setting up Active Directory to manage these schools. I come here asking for advice as I am a newbie to AD. I get the overall theory I think, and I am really excited with the GP settings and whatnot, but many of the schools the computers will be in will have either low bandwidth or sporadic connections which makes me nervous about using this technology. I also don't want to make the students to physically have to login the machine with their own account. I'd prefer the option at some of the schools to be able to just start the computer, it connects to the domain if it can, and it just does its thing with no user interaction required.

Any suggestions or insights? I am setting up Active Directory on Win Server 2012 in my lab. Also any other resources would be great that you may have come across.

Thanks!

Matt

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    This is all entirely feasible with Active Directory. with the low bandwidth and sporadic connections you will need to have a domain controller (or two) at each location - so it might be worth looking at alternatives which will be more cost effective and will use the same protocols and the same Microsoft tools to manage the domain.

3. Thanks to CyberNerd from:

mattcrum (19th January 2013)

Thank Post
    Thanks a lot. This is helpful. You bring up an important part: cost. I rarely begin to understand Microsoft's licensing strategies. The alternative of Samba may be very valuable.