+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, [MDT] Am I doing it wrong? in Technical; Hey guys Im new here and was hoping you could steer me in the right direction. Ive read up but ...

Thank Post

[MDT] Am I doing it wrong?

Hey guys

Im new here and was hoping you could steer me in the right direction. Ive read up but im still confused, Im a bit of a noob!.

We are currently using ghost thick images and im investigating making the move to MDT/WDS.

I've been able to setup MDT/WDS in a lab, deploy Win 7, An app or two, capture a image (wim) etc but im a little confused about what is the proper way to use MDT.

We have several apps that need to be installed on top of windows, some apps need manual tweaks, some donít have silent installs etc. We have different hardware models (drivers) and We donít have SCCM and deploy software manually (sux). My question is this:

A. Should I be using MDT to deploy the OS, then apps, then use task sequences to do all the tweaks needed and then the user uses that PC that all the above has just been run on? Wont this take forever to insall W7, All win updates, 15+ apps? I can forsee problems getting apps to silently install, tweaks to apply etc.

B. Do I use MDT do deploy the OS, then manually install whatís needed, Sprep and cap and then deploy out a wim file to the users? How do I the deploy the wim file? How would driver updates work?
    Any help you can render would be great

Regards
    Camel

Thank Post