+ Post New Thread
O/S Deployment Thread, Assigning diferent computer names to machines during deployment using MDT/WDS in Technical; Hi All, I was wondering what the best approach would be to assign multiple machines each with their own unique ...

Thank Post

Assigning diferent computer names to machines during deployment using MDT/WDS

Hi All,

I was wondering what the best approach would be to assign multiple machines each with their own unique computer name during my deployment. I have been given the responsibility to deploy about 100 computers in an environment and needed to assign different computer names to each machine. Currently I have a setup using MDT for the actual deployment and WDS that is used for the PXE boot. Is there a way (preferable without using a PowerShell script) that I can deploy these machines? The reason I say preferably without PowerShell script is because I'm a rookie with scripting. If there is any other way to do this, please let me know!

Thanks for any help you guys can provide!

-Mehrdad

Thank Post
    You need to look at the database part of MDT this will suit your needs.

3. Thanks to ChrisH from:

mehrdadi (19th October 2012)

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisH View Post
    You need to look at the database part of MDT this will suit your needs.
    Thanks Chris! Anything in particular that I should be looking for? I'm in the process of downloading SQL 2008 Express on a test machine as we speak.

Thank Post
    I scanned in the ethernet mac barcodes off the laptop/box laptop came in, into a spreadsheet, which had a column for asset tag number, 100-200, and another column for computer name "laptop"&tag, and then a 3rd column which converted mac to wdsutil format: =LEFT(H169,2)&"-"&MID(H169,3,2)&"-"&MID(H169,5,2)&"-"&MID(H169,7,2)

then created a wdsutil command ="wdsutil /add-device /device:"&J169&" /id:"&AE169

copy and paste that column into a bat file, run on server.

Dunno how that would work with MDT