+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
*nix Thread, FOG Server and Kernels in Technical; Hey ho! I'm just getting into using FOG. I tried booting via LAN one of our new Fizzbooks but alas- ...
    Thank Post

Question FOG Server and Kernels

Hey ho!

I'm just getting into using FOG. I tried booting via LAN one of our new Fizzbooks but alas- it isn't compatible with FOG. My guess is i need to update the Kernels on our Ubuntu machine for FOG but have no idea how to do it.

I booted from another PC into FOG and everything went fine.

Any help makes me happy!!

J
    x

Thank Post
    What does it do when you boot it into fog? I've yet to find a wholey incompatible machine, but I have had to add some arguements to the Kernel before to get one or two to boot correctly.

Updating the kernel can be done through fog its self. Can't remember which menu now, might be the fog settings one and look for 'kernel updates' on the left - should be quite self explanatory from there on in.

3. Thanks to maniac from:

marsdenprimary (3rd December 2010)

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by maniac View Post
    What does it do when you boot it into fog? I've yet to find a wholey incompatible machine, but I have had to add some arguements to the Kernel before to get one or two to boot correctly.

Updating the kernel can be done through fog its self. Can't remember which menu now, might be the fog settings one and look for 'kernel updates' on the left - should be quite self explanatory from there on in.
    Thanks for that- I've booted into the Fog management console, clicked on Kernel updates but nothing happens... This is all it says: