+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
*nix Thread, Linux - Best distro for a relative noob? in Technical; Hi all, hoping for your input on this one, there are countless sites out there offering up advice but I ...

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,222 Times in 831 Posts

Linux - Best distro for a relative noob?

Hi all,

hoping for your input on this one, there are countless sites out there offering up advice but I value the opinion of EduGeek's members [/brown nose].

I'm relatively new to the Linux scene. I have used it on and off for a few years, and know the basics of using terminal, installing packages, mounting drives etc. (I did say basics!)

So I'm wandering, which distro would you recommend to a noob who wants to learn the technical side of Linux whilst maintaining a usable desktop to get my work done?

[the rest of this post is a bit of a rant, but I'll include it anyway in case anybody has any idea's!]

At the moment, I'm using Ubuntu Maverick, and I'm liking it on the most part. However, one thing that is really irritating me, and is very near to pushing back to Windoze, is the dual screen support; it's not great.

At home, I have one 22" monitor which I do all my computer work on, and also have the TV connected via HDMI (on an ATI Radeon HD 2400)which I like to have XBMC or Boxee running on in full screen. In Ubuntu with Xinerama enabled, I get all the usual perks you would get of having a dual monitor set up i.e. a large desktop, windows draggable between screens, but the minute I try to full screen XBMC or Boxee, it sits in between the two screens, with half on each.

I kind of fixed it by disabling Xinerama, but then I had the head ache of Ubuntu randomly deciding which my main monitor was (moving my panels to the 'wrong' screen) and lost the ability to drag windows/shortcuts/launchers between desktops.