+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
*nix Thread, Choosing A Linux Version in Technical; Hello Edu, Sorry, I'm only new here. Please go easy on me, I'm not sure if this is the right ...

Thank Post

Question Choosing A Linux Version

Hello Edu,

Sorry, I'm only new here. Please go easy on me, I'm not sure if this is the right place for this and I did check the suggested threads. Please if this has been done already or is in the wrong place, Please re direct me and delete this thread.

I have my sisters old computer just sitting in the study, she has no need for it. No idea what the specs are, It's from 2004 or 2005. I'm thinking about using it as a server for File sharing, Printer and running the Router from and Network monitoring(Stop my sister wasting our bandwidth on Gossip Girl) between the 5 computers in the house.

What Linux version should I run? What do I need to know? I'm TOTALLY new to Linux but I'm not totally computer illiterate.

I took a test and I got openSUSE as a result but I would like to know your opinions.

Please and thank you in advance.

Thank Post

Thank Post
    Any distro will do all that you describe but it'll take some work to set it up. My personal favourite distro is Debian.

If you wanted to have the machine do one specific job, there are distros out there which require minimal setup:
    * file sharing - OpenFiler or FreeNAS
    * firewall/proxy - Smoothwall Express

Thank Post
    Well, I don't NEED it to do anything. I just want to learn something knew and take up some time of my holidays between work. Any major differences between Debian and openSUSE?

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bocaj1994 View Post
    Well, I don't NEED it to do anything. I just want to learn something knew and take up some time of my holidays between work. Any major differences between Debian and openSUSE?