+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
*nix Thread, How can I make a directory server with home folders? in Technical; I am a computer teacher at a primary school. I am wondering if there is a linux distro that I ...

Thank Post

How can I make a directory server with home folders?

I am a computer teacher at a primary school.
    I am wondering if there is a linux distro that I can use as a fileserver that can:

a) authenticate users

b) automatically mount their home folder on the server.

Can I get this to work with both linux and windows desktops?
    Last edited by Oakie; 12th March 2010 at 11:29 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,034 Posts
    you can do this with ubuntu and samba

Toby

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by glennda View Post
    you can do this with ubuntu and samba
    This recent thread might come in handy:

Configuring Samba

--
    David Hicks

Thank Post
    I think my title and description were too broad and vague.

I have some general experience with linux distros. Old redhat 7.2, Suse 9, ubunutu intrepid. I have tried samba and webmin and samba conf. file.

I've never really gotten the configuration or results that I am after. As a computer teacher at a primary school, I use a Win 2003 DC and Xp clients daily.

Now I am working on a Masters degree in educational technology. Up for consideration for my thesis is a bit of research into why more primary schools don't embrace Linux, not simply at the desktop level but at the server level and particularly as a Domain Controller and file server.

In my limited experience, I have found that it is fairly simple to implement a linux webserver and especially now that many come with all the LAMP stack pre-installed and or preconfigured.