+ Post New Thread
*nix Thread, Reset Password Ubuntu Server in Technical; We are looking at taking over the IT support for a local firm who have a basic Ubuntu file server ...
    richard_s

Reset Password Ubuntu Server

We are looking at taking over the IT support for a local firm who have a basic Ubuntu file server installed. The problem is that the previous support firm will not give the client the password for the server which means no one can access it to do either maintenance or any other work on it that needs doing.

I have some knowledge of linux but removing a password is beyond my capabilities without help.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by richard_s View Post
    We are looking at taking over the IT support for a local firm who have a basic Ubuntu file server installed. The problem is that the previous support firm will not give the client the password for the server which means no one can access it to do either maintenance or any other work on it that needs doing.

I have some knowledge of linux but removing a password is beyond my capabilities without help.
    If you boot from a Linux CD (the original Ubuntu CD will do it) it should mount all pre-existing drives including the one which holds the /etc directory. Supposing it mounts the drive in location /mnt/drive1, you would need to go edit (as root) the /mnt/drive1/etc/shadow file to remove the root passwd.

root:$1$b62f6698$5Xrs/t0cxojBTrgyEXOVc1:14547:0:99999:7:::

becomes

root::14547:0:99999:7:::

Then you should be able to reboot without the CD and log in as root without giving a password. Then type "passwd" at a shell and enter a new one.

I used to use Knoppix for this, but that was a few years ago.

--
    Simon

Thank Post
    m0nty's is correct, but usually root is locked out on Ubuntu so you may need to find the admin user.

Use live cd, Knoppix/Ubuntu....
    Mount existing root drive to /mnt/drive1
    List all admin users
    $ grep admin /mnt/drive1/etc/group