+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
*nix Thread, Web Filter in Technical; Ok I have a question for all you nix gurus out there as Im a nix Newb. What Im looking ...
    Thank Post

Web Filter

Ok I have a question for all you nix gurus out there as Im a nix Newb. What Im looking into for the near future is a means to filter websites/content and I believe a nix server would do this best. Only thing is in kinda need an idiots guide on the following:
    Distro - Which one should i go for?
    - Whats the hardware requirement?

Smoothwall - Given the above, how do I install it?
    - How do i configure it?
    - How do i intergrate it into the network?

Dansguard - how do I install it?
    - How do i configure it?
    - How do i intergrate it into the network?

Ipcop - should i use this and if so then the above questions need answering...

I know its alot to ask but any help is appreciated. Oh and one more thing, if i wanted to add additional elements would it be a good idea to add them to the above nix server or create a new one?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Web Filter

Ok. As I've mentioned before I need to get round to writing up one (or more!) wiki articles about this however basically what I have setup (in steps):

Ubtuntu LTS 6.06 (Dapper Drake) Minimal Server Install on a P4 Celeron 2.4Ghz with 1Gb of ram (a recycled desktop machine basically).

I've installed Squid and Samba (with winbind).
    I've then added the machine as a member server to the domain (samba).
    Enabled Username/Group lookups (winbind)
    Got the machine working as a proxy via our LEA's proxy server (Squid)
    Enabled NTLM authentication (Squid + Winbind)
    Downloaded Dansguardian Alpha Version and compiled it (much installing of compile tools).
    Done some configured Dansguardian so it goes through squid (for the NTLM auth).
    Updated the blacklists + phraselists and told Dansguardian to use them.

Things I have outstanding: