+ Post New Thread
*nix Thread, Cups 1.3.7 access denied on a Windows domain in Technical; I'm trying to setup a new CUPS server to use with Papercut but I'm about to throw my toys out ...
    Thank Post

Cups 1.3.7 access denied on a Windows domain

I'm trying to setup a new CUPS server to use with Papercut but I'm about to throw my toys out my pram as I can't it to work how I need it to :-)

The system is a fresh install of CentOS 5.3 with cups-1.3.7-8.el5_3.4, I have added the printer (which is connected via a jetdirect card) and I can print as many test pages as I like. If a computer is logged in locally I can add the printer via ipp with something like http://192.168.0.31:631/printers/mezz and it works fine.

If I try to add the printer when I'm logged into the domain as a domain admin I add the port then it asks for a username & password and the only way I can get round this is by using "root" which I don't really want. I know I could add a new user to the box to use but I'm not sure if this would confuse papercut as everyone would be connecting as root.

What I don't understand is this used to work fine on older boxes running CUPS 1.1 so I'm guessing it's something added when we jumped from 1.1 to 1.3.

I can post my cupsd.conf file if this would help

I had thought about using Samba to share the printers but this seems over kill & I had issue's with our old cups boxes trying this hence the use of IPP.

Any idea's before I go to the dark side & run it all off a Windows box ??
    Brian
    Last edited by clodhopper; 3rd June 2009 at 01:18 PM.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Open up cups.conf, check the Policy section. There's a 'Limit' section for a group of actions. Just remove the user requirement from the printing one.

Thank Post
    This is what I have in my policy section, I even tried to setup a default policy to allow everything, without luck :-(

# Set the default printer/job policies...
    DefaultPolicy BCH

<Policy default>