+ Post New Thread
*nix Thread, Using L*nux in schools in Technical; Help please, I'm a new systems manager that is happy with my xp installs, but my AHT's (leadership) have asked ...

Thank Post

Using L*nux in schools

Help please, I'm a new systems manager that is happy with my xp installs, but my AHT's (leadership) have asked for the new cheaper linux versions to be put on the network. I mean in the new mini-laptops. It maybe as a 'leased pc' or as one we'd 'give' to students.

I admit, I'm not great with linux as I've not used it really in the school environment, but have said no to begin with. I'm worried about the lack of ability to 'lock down' linux, and sent this message to SMT but am being hit back with the reports from ICT and e-learning that other schools are using it and there are work arounds so I am feeling out of place! I really want to know how to move my school forward succussfully! Can you advise? I am new but passionate about my position and willing to learn!! My predessessor sent the following message around schools about linux.

1.The operating system on this notebook is Linux. Linux is not a secure operating system and it is not possible to “Lock down” Linux in the way that is possible with Microsoft Windows operating systems. As a result I believe that these computers could pose a threat to the school systems. There are any number of easily accessible websites which offer advice on tweaks and hacks for the Linux operating system.. The risk of the above is twofold: -

a)It could be possible for a malicious user to hack or launch a denial of service attack on the school network infrastructure from this computer.
    b)Students could very easily download/install applications and tweak the operating settings rendering the computer inoperable.

Please any plus or minus points would be greatly appreciated! Linux in schools......for or against................