+ Post New Thread
*nix Thread, Want to test Steam for Linux? in Technical; Must be running Ubuntu 12.04 or higher. More from The Register here: Valve taps testers for Linux Steam ? Reg ...

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,194 Times in 1,006 Posts
    Blog Entries

Want to test Steam for Linux?

Must be running Ubuntu 12.04 or higher. More from The Register here: Valve taps testers for Linux Steam ? Reg Hardware

2. 2 Thanks to Dos_Box:

DT2 (29th October 2012), LosOjos (29th October 2012)

DT2
    Lakeville, Carleton County, New Brunswick
    Thank Post
    Duly registered

CAM

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I'm holding off on this as I'm still new to Linux as a primary OS. Will be chasing the next set of beta invites though for the newer Linux users.

Does Kubuntu count as well?

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,004 Posts

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    Bypass Steam Linux Beta Invitations

OMG! Ubuntu! learned from a reader that Reddit users on /r/linux_gaming have already figured out a way to bypass Valve’s Beta Invitation – which allow users to start exploring Steam on Linux much earlier than the folks at Valve had likely planned for.

In order to enjoy the Valve on Linux Beta early users have been using the following steps…

From Terminal:

wget http://media.steampowered.com/client...ller/steam.deb
    sudo dpkg -i steam.deb && sudo apt-get install -f
    Then From Unity Dash:

Launch Steam App
    Login to Steam
    You will get a message saying you aren’t in Beta.
    Close this.
    If you are on amd64 architecture then you will also need to run “sudo apt-get install libjpeg-turbo8:i386 libcurl3gnutls:i386 libogg0:i386 libpixman-1-0:i386 libsdl1.2debian:i386 libtheora0:i386 libvorbis0a:i386 libvorbisenc2:i386 libvorbisfile3:i386 libasound2:i386 libc6:i386 libgcc1:i386 libstdc++6:i386 libx11-6:i386 libxau6:i386 libxcb1:i386 libxdmcp6:i386″ from terminal without the quotations.