+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
IT News Thread, Why tablets are failing miserably in higher education in Other News; Why tablets are failing miserably in higher education...

Thank Post

Why tablets are failing miserably in higher education

2. 3 Thanks to caffrey:

jamesfed (19th May 2014), Steven_Cleaver (19th May 2014), ZeroHour (19th May 2014)

Thank Post
    I'ld like to add that i use my tablet for taking notes in lectures at uni. I'm a maths student and i use an android tablet, with a specific app for manipulation words and numbers using a language called LaTeX.

I really disagree with
    He went on to say that, "Tablets are fine for reading material and accessing digital files, but for any type of coursework requiring sophisticated design, image manipulation or production, tablets fall far short. Of the 140 students in my classes this year, none used a tablet in class for academic purposes".
    Mainly because out of say 400 students on my course at least 5 or 6 of us use tablets for note taking. The hard core maths use Android, and thoes doing the odd module of maths on their finance course use ipads. One guy uses his android phone - which caused a lecturer to ask questions. Admittedly that's only around 1.5% of us, but that's for maths where we regularly use characters from 6 or more typefaces. I bet in more wordy based subjects they are more common - as are laptops in comp sci and business.