• For other school/class purposes

2 40.00%
  • I prefer other hosting alternatives

1 20.00%
  • I do not need hosting

2 40.00%
Multiple Choice Poll.
+ Post New Thread
New Project Ideas Thread, Free hosting service for schools and colleges in EduGeek Projects; I am so pleased to have found this site. I wish I'd stumbled across it a long time ago. I ...

Thank Post

Free hosting service for schools and colleges

I am so pleased to have found this site. I wish I'd stumbled across it a long time ago.

I hope I might have something ready in the next couple of months that might interest those of you who are interested in creating web spaces for your students. I'm aware that there are some people offering hosting for schools (such as edutechhosting), but mine is based around a custom hosting management system rather than the free provision of a hosted domain.

I am a FE ICT teacher (although my background is secondary) and I'm also studying for an MSc in Internet Apps Development. After recent issues related to web hosting for students at my college I have decided to create a free hosting service for schools for my major MSc project.

The idea is to create a web-based service where teachers can sign up their school and add class lists (in a format like xls) and the system creates separate folders on the server for each class->student. Usernames and password would be created for each student on-the-fly that allow students to log in and upload folders/files in an ftp-like interface (without the need for a local ftp client). Then each student would have their own website address (the following links don't work) Note that no domain purchase is required:

school.hostdomain.com/class/student eg. stjohns.achost.com/10C/debbie