+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Separate Logins Per Child Or Per Class? in Technical; Hey everyone, Firstly, I'm new in the ICT field, with only an 8 year old IT degree to fall back ...

Thank Post

Separate Logins Per Child Or Per Class?

Hey everyone,

Firstly, I'm new in the ICT field, with only an 8 year old IT degree to fall back on. I'm also learning Server 2008 from a VM at home, not perfect I know. So I'm just trying to find my feet on where to start at the school I'm working for. Yes, I realise their first port of call would be to employ someone who knows what they are doing, but I'm volunteering my time to try help where I can

School Info:

Junior, infants and nursery school
    600 children
    150 staff
    200+ laptops
    One ICT suite with around 40 PC's
    15+ Smart Boards
    Server running x64 Server 2008

This school has had no previous ICT manager, just one technician, and as you can imagine the whole of IT is in a bit of a mess. Their only 'expertise' derives from a contractor who comes in when necessary to rebuild the server and sort out anything that the technician can't.

My first question is where would you start? Nothing exists in terms of documentation, policies or otherwise, if I remember correctly this is the place to start. Any advice here?

Next up are user groups. Currently all teachers have admin rights, and children use a classroom login. Apparently children did have separate logins last year but they kept forgetting their passwords (among other issues). I know this can't be right as the classroom shared folder is a mess and data is freely deleted or edited from each other's separate folder. Reading on here a little it seems some of you still have that issue lol. Do you guys have separate logins for the children, if so, what does your file structure look like? With this information, I can then talk to the contractor when he comes in and discuss the current/future setup.