+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, New Member, needing help with CC4 in Technical; Hi all. My name is Chris, and I have been managing a CC4 network for the last 6 months. Hopefully ...

Thank Post

New Member, needing help with CC4

Hi all.
    My name is Chris, and I have been managing a CC4 network for the last 6 months.
    Hopefully you can help me with a few niggles I have.
    • I have wrote a registry key in order to associate .VOB with WMP. This works fine, however the key needs to be ran/installed individually on each machine. This is quite time consuming as at the mintue I am re-building quite a lot of stations. I previously looked at using the RMMC custom registry key feature, however it just did not seem to take. Anyone any ideas with this?
    • Quite often some and/or all printers are not mapping for users. I have seen that this is an issue for users who have applied update 94 and 95, however I haven't and also don't really want to as I don't want the problem to become more frequent. Any thoughts on this?
    • Also, I'm not sure about my backup setup. I currently have a network hard-drive 2TB, this is setup to create a full back-up using Windows own back-up utility, every Friday, and an incremental back-up Monday - Thursday. I have recently just changed to this as the existing was only an incremental once a week. I just wanted to get some thoughts on this.
    • Our server set-up is currently 2 servers, however server 1 hosts all the user data and shared area. and server 2 simply hosts RM photos and videos. This doesn't seem very balanced, I have moved all the printers to server 2. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Thank you in advance for your input

Chris_Clemo

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Hi

Off the top of my head..

Over the reg best thing is to package up in an msi as don't think rmmc will work in that case. Over load balancing share printers over both servers and share the users over both servers.

Russ