+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Moving from CC3 to Vanilla..... in Technical; Hi all I have read all the debates on here and whilst it has provided excellent information I dont want ...

Thank Post

Moving from CC3 to Vanilla.....

Hi all

I have read all the debates on here and whilst it has provided excellent information I dont want to go down the which is better route. Instead im after information from those who have moved from CC3 to a Vanilla setup.

I have inherited a network manager and a CC3 network for 400 desktops at a secondary school and they want me to investigate the possibility of upgrading this to Vanilla over the next year. I have no experience dealing with a RM network and instead come from a Vanilla background. I also dont start until next month but wanted to do some research beforehand to try to get up to speed with how big the task is. I have met the network manager who seems very clued up and a nice guy so will utilise him a lot and get his feedback as well but have seen how many people here have gone CC3 to Vanilla so want to utilise this knowledge.

To maximise the upgrade im looking at also upgrading desktops to Windows 7 from the existing XP setup, and my initial thoughts are to go down the Windows Server 2003/2008, AD, DHCP & DNS Server, an ISA server and also SCCM to manage the desktops/software deployment etc. Utilising MDT 2010 for custom OS creation and deployment using PXE server. Also looking at Symantec Endpoint as a Virus/malware solution.

Has anyone previously gone down a similar route? What new hardware/software did you use for the server setups? How did the process go? would you change anything? what security measures in addition to standard Server security permissions were introduced? etc etc.