+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Which Network Management Software to go for...? in Technical; Hi All I'm an IT Technician at a Junior School. We have 80 machines, including laptops and teacher laptops and ...

Thank Post

Which Network Management Software to go for...?

Hi All

I'm an IT Technician at a Junior School. We have 80 machines, including laptops and teacher laptops and one server.

We plan to buy a new server and are looking into Network Management software, at the moment we run Windows Server 2003 'vanilla' and all the workstations are XP Pro.

We have had quotes from RM and Ergo (interestingly no-one on here seems to mention Ergo). The money is potentially there for either of these, and so far RM are the favourite. I feel very reluctant to go with RM, basically 'cos of the cost, but also I've heard that several schools in the area are taking RM out! I worry that we will spend alot of money for something we can get cheaper and maybe better.

I have read about Viglen and Ranger on this forum and the Ranger Primary looks particulary appealing - the fact you install it yourself appeals and there seems to be alot of features that you would pay extra for with RM.

I'm a little unsure about Rangers software deployment method, it doesn't use MSI files but seems to take images or something similar.

Does anyone have any experience of any of the mentioned Management software or any info at all that could assist in the decision of which to choose.

I feel I'm going round in circles and getting nowhere, and there is pressure to get on with it - but I don't want an expensive mistake!!

Thanks

Phan

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Which Network Management Software to go for...?

Removed Viglen Classlink and RM from several primary schools here. They are all running vanilla w2k3 based networks now.

What features of a 'managed' solution do you feel you need that are not provided by a vanilla w2k3 setup?