+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, RM CC3 SP3 Very Newbe Needs some dumbing down and HELP in Technical; Hi, Im Very new to the hole ICT technition post. have very little access to support. so i'm hopeing some ...

Thank Post

Red face RM CC3 SP3 Very Newbe Needs some dumbing down and HELP

Hi, Im Very new to the hole ICT technition post. have very little access to support. so i'm hopeing some of you may be able to assistme with a few things. can prety much muddle my way trough in the end but dont have the language or experiance so please dumb down. Heres my problem I have followed the instructions religiously for downloading and allocating XP SP3 Update, win instal update 3.1, the new RM Aplication agent and IE7 along with HFXCC33243. we have 90 or so machines. and I have had about 7% sucsess with SP3 and probably 90% sucsess with IE7 with the Machines that have not installed SP3 most of the other updates have also not installed, However thay dont say thay have failed insted thay say "Installation_Pending" I have tried repeatedly restarting some of these machines. Health Checks, realocating, alocating all the updates that had not been properly allocated prior to me takeing the job, Updating Packaged list and nothing seems to change. Can any one tell me what is going on and how I can resolve it. Im starting to get a bit hot and bothered and hve few ideas left.
    Thanks for listening

Thank Post
    I've had similar package allocation problems before (i'm not going to be doing the SP3 upgrade though).
    Normally i'll end up rebooting the forest root server to 'unlock' the package control files (workstationname.ini) ,I've also done the the same thing in the past to fix changes to the start menu (program sets) not showing up.

To be honest i'd restart all the servers and rebuild a few workstations from scratch, if it works then just rebuild them all to have peace of mind that everything has installed in the correct order.

Thank Post