+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Net Control 2 in Technical; Hi, I have noticed the classroom management software; Net control 2, it appears to be very reasonably priced and seems ...

Thank Post

Net Control 2

Hi,

I have noticed the classroom management software; Net control 2, it appears to be very reasonably priced and seems to be a good piece of software.
    But; I am wondering if anybody has had any experience in Net Control 2, if so - what your opinions are of it with particular reference to policy application to client computers.

Regards,
    Matt

Thank Post
    I've been using Netcontrol 2 for a few years now. You can deploy the application to the student computers using group policy (they provide an MSI upon request). It takes a couple of minutes for it to install this way.

Activation is not required, you just have to enter a registration code on the teacher computer. However, the code does not always work and sometimes it takes multiple attempts of entering the code for it to actually consider the software registered (even if it says "Registered", it sometimes forgets this next time you start the program). Mine has also randomly lost the registration in the middle of the year.

I have not tried any of the restrictions that can be applied to student computers. They probably work fine, I just have never gotten around to testing that part of the program.

The connections to the student computers occasionally get lost, but that could be because our network equipment and desktops are quite old. Regardless, restarting the student and teacher computers resolve that problem. Teachers don't usually like having to restart in the middle of a lesson though...

We have tried the screen sharing function, but could never get it to work properly for all computers. (There was always at least one or two student computers that would just show a black screen).