+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Network and Classroom Management Thread, New to WinSuite - help needed in Technical; I am new to my school and new to WinSuite and have been placed in charge of adding users to ...

Thank Post

New to WinSuite - help needed

I am new to my school and new to WinSuite and have been placed in charge of adding users to the system and updating the class lists that appear on the login screens.

I have created all of the new users (although I cannot get them to have a My Documents yet - that is to be sorted later). They have updated accordingly in the WinSuite Administrator with all classes correct, with the right users in the right groups ready to go.

My problem is that when it comes to the login screen on the class room machines the list of names does not necessarily match those on the WinSuite Administrator.

How do I get these to marry up and be the same?

Any help would be more than useful.

Jon
    Thank Post
    The local copy of the winsuite database can take a while to update sometimes.

To force it you simply logon to the local machine, with an admin account, open winsuite administrator, this will then update the local database and your groups will appear correctly.

Did you you the "winsuite user import" tool to create your new users? If you have then this will normally also create and set permissions on your users home directory also.

Thank Post
    Here's what I have done:

1. In Active Directory I have created users, and I have since gone into Properties and changed the 'Profile' tab to say Logon.bat and connect to the H drive and have copied the same server name and home folder (with $ at the end) - I have done this to make the Properties appear the same as existing users.

2. I have then opened WinSuite Administrator and have made sure that the Groups I have added have the same Users in them as my class lists, and have the same Drive permissions, i.e. they can see the same 'letters' of the drives.