+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Roaming Profiles in Technical; ...
    Thank Post

Roaming Profiles

Hi everyone

I really am hoping that i can get someone’s expertise with this. I am running into a problem setting up a network for my school at present I am running a test network to get myself ready for when all the equipment comes in might as well be prepared for this.

Now first things first I have a bit of experience with server 2003 but i am still learning as i go along, my experience was in maintaining the server and pupils but never from first setup so this is my first big project.

I am setting up a networking with 1 server running windows server 2003, 3x300Gb SAS drives on raid 5. When I am setting up pupil accounts and then staff accounts I have created a new organisational unit for pupils another one for staff and another one for non-teaching staff. I think this is right when i am wanting to use group policies for them. I take it that if i was to create another one for 6th form pupils then I could give a bit more access for 6th years am I right in thinking that.

I have tried creating roaming profiles but i am not sure if I am doing this right or not. I log into the workstation as Administrator and create a test account called "Pupil" then log out and log in as Pupil from here i change the desktop and start menu to the way that I want a pupils account to look including desktop, when I am finished I log out and back in as administrator and copy there profile over to the server shared "\\server-name\Profiles\Pupil", I think I have done that all right for just the profile but what I am not sure about do I then copy this profile for all other users.