+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, When do you create a ticket for tracking an issue? in Technical; Mods: I'm not sure the best place for this, move if it should be more ICT policies. When do _you_ ...

Thank Post

When do you create a ticket for tracking an issue?

Mods: I'm not sure the best place for this, move if it should be more ICT policies.

When do _you_ (not teachers) create a ticket to track an issue, for your / your technical colleagues benefit? My general rule of thumb is if the job is likely to take more than 5* minutes and/or requires input from non-it-person or external person to proceed.

As anyone who's ever done the "write down all the things you do today" experiment (you quickly get to 11am and 3 sheets of A4 and then give up) knows, I'd like the ticketing to be useful rather than a chore.

So how do you do it?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    As an IT manager, i really want *everything* to be ticketed - that way you can do some sort of analysis of what's going on. For example, you probably get lots of "I've forgotten my password" requests. It takes seconds to fix this but it needs logging. You can then see if it's general (everyone forgets their password once a month) or confined to individuals. If it's the latter then you can kick ass (or other appropriate training) but unless you have stats to back it up it's really difficult!

If the tracking system is too cumbersome then could you have a much simpler system to track quick jobs - maybe a box to enter username and a drop down to pick type of task. that should only take seconds to complete but will give some useful info.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,787 Times in 1,110 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Same here .. ticket everything. Every password change. very time you got a call to sort out a printer not being turned on ... everything.