+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Urgent Help needed! in Technical; Hi all! This is my first post on these forums, and hopefully not my last! I work as a ICT ...

Thank Post

Urgent Help needed!

Hi all!

This is my first post on these forums, and hopefully not my last!

I work as a ICT and AV Technician at a school in gloucestershire.

I have a problem, our current network manager has accused me of browsing the internet while i should of been working. I deny this, however, he has produced what he claims, as factual evidence that i have been browsing the internet for 2 hours on one day.

This evidence was a report generated by Websense explorer (v6.3).

I do not dispute that the software is not accurate, on the contrary it appears to be very good. But, the URLs that websense has logged as my activity do not appear to be actual websites, however i believe they are in fact connections made to ad servers, by spyware cookies and in the case of urs.microsoft.com phishing data. (that is being sent back to microsoft). And also websites that contain google-analytics tracking code.

So what im asking, is if any of you guys can agree with me that, in fact, the websites in my picture are, mostly outside of my control. (i did not browse on them, the spyware did).

Any help would be much appreciated in this matter, as i would like to get my name cleared, for i have not done any wrong doing.

Thank you!

P.S. It is also part of my job to search for new AV and IT equipment, thus the main sites that i use for this is dabs and ebuyer.

Thanks!

This is the screenshot, this is not the only part of it, however, i felt that the first section contained enough for you guys to help me!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,890 Times in 1,170 Posts
    Blog Entries
    So, you left your browser open whilst ou did other things and the adware / banners kept a connection going whilst you didn't realise?