+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Laptops not working properly offline, cached profiles and adobe reader - CC3 in Technical; Hi All Quick question about laptops being used away from a school on CC3 Normally they cache the profiles, but ...

Thank Post

Laptops not working properly offline, cached profiles and adobe reader - CC3

Hi All
    Quick question about laptops being used away from a school on CC3

Normally they cache the profiles, but I have 1 school where I can log in but my documents doesn't work. Simply states the location isnt available or similar.
    What do I need to do to the laptops to make them cache profiles and their docs (which are obviously normally stored on the server)
    Are there specific packages or applications I need to be checking or could it be settings in RMMC done wrong?

Sorry, I inherited the school and I'm new to CC3 (just started with it last year)

Also,
    there is also a long running issue which is that Adobe Reader doesn't work when the computers are offline or away from the school network.
    C++ error, I believe it's related to redirected folders or the like.

I experiemented for a while this week and the only way I could make it work was by running the program as a local user. ie right click - run as - and pick an account.
    Can't do that as a teacher, I was just trying as systemadmin.

It did work perfectly fine but not keen on setting up a local user on every computer needing to use it at home!
    I can make a shortcut that runs the commands to create an account, and launch reader using that account but it needs an admin account to run the part that creates the user, so doesn't really save me any time. Any tips? Apparently it must be adobe reader - as they use it for forms for reports.

Thanks! Hope you understand my brain dump!
    Last edited by computerguy; 15th February 2014 at 10:06 PM.

Thank Post
    Anyone? A lot of views! Thanks

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,717 Times in 2,005 Posts