+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Network and Classroom Management Thread, Network from Scratch in Technical; Hi all This is my first post and its quite a broad one but any help or advice would be ...

Thank Post

Network from Scratch

Hi all
    This is my first post and its quite a broad one but any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    I have started supporting a school that subscribes to a shared network that covers a whole borough, its been flakey at times and the school would like me to investigate a move away to their own network. They don't own any switches, servers or a router so it would be starting again. They do own 200 workstations, 6 printers and a good wifi system (using 3 vlans).
    My background is 12 years supporting RM CC3\4 and some vanilla experience. I also have MCSA.
    I was thinking VMware 2dc's 2012 or 2008 and 3 member servers print, mis, software (but i might use one dc for software roll out instead). SAN and a backup solution, I may consider off site backup rather than an in house one, it depends on cost really.
    My thinking is getting some consultancy help for the first network setup, then I will have learned enough to do subsequent refreshes myself.
    I appreciate its a big job but if you plan correctly then it should be ok.
    Has anyone been through a similar experience who could offer any advice at all, even a good consultancy company etc... Feel free to offer suggestions if you think it could be done better as I am in the fortunate position of just starting the project and have not bought anything yet.

Many thanks
    Jertsy
    Last edited by jertsy; 5th September 2013 at 07:30 PM.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    That is an *awesome* project to get your teeth into!