Once you set up a supervised device, you can also Assign it to a designated user. When you check out the device to a particular user, Apple Configurator returns the device to the state it was in the last time that person used it. All the user’s settings and app data are restored.
When you check the device back in, Apple Configurator backs up the user’s settings and app data for the next time, including any new user-created data, and then erases any information that was left on the device by the previous user. By checking devices in and out, you can give each user the experience of a personal device, yet retain the ability to assign the same group of devices to many groups of users. Users can be added manually or imported from Open Directory or Active Directory and organized into custom groups.