+ Post New Thread
Netbooks, PDA and Phones Thread, Kindles in UK schools in Technical; Hi all, An order has been put forward for 150 Kindles to be purchased for English because 'Kids are so ...
    Thank Post

Kindles in UK schools

Hi all,

An order has been put forward for 150 Kindles to be purchased for English because 'Kids are so used to looking at screens they will read more'. I'm firmly against this and have been putting together a plan to get it thrown out, or at the very least the number purchased brought down to a class size of 30 at most. I've no experience with Kindles but it is my understanding that they must be linked to an Amazon account and books can be downloaded to a maximum of 6 devices. Is this the case?

I've also read conflicting information that by using them in a school environment you are breaking Amazon UK terms of use agreement as they are a 'personal' device?

Could anyone shed further light on the legalities of using them? Those who may have them how do you manage them and the books?

Thanks in advance.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,679 Times in 1,459 Posts
    Blog Entries
    One thing is Kindles don't support proxy servers. So you will struggle there. You could use USB instead though.

This will let you manage kindles in bulk - https://whispercast.amazon.com/

Thank Post
    Hi FN-GM,

We don't use a proxy here, so that's not an issue.

I did briefly look into Whispercast but seemed it was aimed at the US only currently?

Thanks.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,630 Times in 1,938 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FN-GM View Post
    This will let you manage kindles in bulk - https://whispercast.amazon.com/
    When did it become available is the UK? That's pretty big news.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,679 Times in 1,459 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
    When did it become available is the UK? That's pretty big news.
    I don't use it personally, someone told me last week schools can use it in the UK.