+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, How do you update FMS in Technical; hi guys, im quite new to FMS, i have been supporting SIMS for a while. However i'm helping a school ...

Thank Post

How do you update FMS

hi guys, im quite new to FMS, i have been supporting SIMS for a while. However i'm helping a school who are without IT support remotely for a short period of time. They are on a older version of FMS and apparenty need to have FMS update. They seem to be on the latests version of SIMS, is the setup folder shared? if i remote on at lunch can i do a DB upgrade?

i recall going to 'update and run solus' in April and it showed no updates for SIMS or FMS, would that indicate they have no licence ?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,288 Times in 799 Posts
    Blog Entries
    -added SIMS tag to thread title-

Thank Post
    sorry long time lerker, not a posted, will read up on the rules

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,476 Times in 1,919 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Updates for FMS are released by whoever provides their SIMS support. So, if it is an LEA team, they would need to release it. However, they will only be able to do this if the school has been paying for FMS support (as it pays for upgrade licenses).

If you have the infrastructure in place for SIMS.net updates and they work, then FMS will update the same. You just need to run SOLUS on the server to get the FMS update and the clients will auto-update.

5. Thanks to localzuk from:

jimlad (3rd July 2012)

Thank Post
    interesting, as i don't think the updates are coming via solus, as i had to swap the setup files when i updated SIMS, which i maybe should not have done if they indeed don't have a SIMS licence. I will call the school and check when i get a min (im just helping a teacher friend)

I know they don't buy into any SIMS and FMS support anymore, but perhaps they are unaware that they *could* be unlicensed.