+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, Optimising Edit Marks (Lesson Monitor) in Technical; Hi folks, Although I'm relatively new to the school (and education full stop) we have a long-standing problem here with ...
    Thank Post

Question Optimising Edit Marks (Lesson Monitor)

Hi folks,

Although I'm relatively new to the school (and education full stop) we have a long-standing problem here with Edit Marks.

A number of teachers still use paper registers, and one of the administrators has to manually enter these using the above function. The function is also used to view and then print registers in the case of a fire (and a fire drill).

The problem is that opening this view for a year group takes about 40 seconds, and opening for the whole school typically crashes the SIMS client. This is causing the administrator who works with Edit Marks to be driven barmy.

Coincidentally we migrated our SIMS server over half term to a Hyper-V VM (quad core, with 8GB RAM. The CPU is definitely seeing usage, and the current memory footprint is around 3GB). I had hoped this would improve the performance as it has been running previously on a 5-year old physical server, albeit a reasonable specced one. Over half term the search results were halved, but testing today the search speeds are more or less the same as they were.

Is anyone aware of a way to improve the Edit Marks search speed, and/or improve SIMS performance within Hyper-V?

TIA

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,383 Times in 1,145 Posts
    The issue has been mentioned a few times on SupportNet, it's just accepted that Edit Marks is a slow area to work in, especially if you're pulling back a weeks worth of attendance, possibly lesson marks too for the whole school. Easier to do it by year.

You could look at the client, as it will be caching that data, and pulling it down, i'm sure the query itself isn't taxing, but what sims does with the data is what makes the screen freeze for the client.