+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, new to all this, question for tomorrow's census, and something on discover in Technical; First off, hello. I'm new to all this school stuff, and a bit behind from the start as I'm American, ...
    Thank Post

new to all this, question for tomorrow's census, and something on discover

First off, hello.

I'm new to all this school stuff, and a bit behind from the start as I'm American, and have never worked in a school (this will identify me if anyone at my school is on here). A bit of background on myself though - I'm a longtime DB Admin, over multiple systems, generally proprietary, and generally have taught myself with all the experience over the years. I've had multiple roles in various forms of IT, handling all sorts, from front-end support to training, as well as managing (both users and employees), I also have a moderate knowledge of many systems, and generally can figure out software given time to play (which I'm quickly learning is in short supply working at a school).

anyways.

two issues I currently have:

1. Discover will not launch for me - it continually tells me that my username/password are invalid (they aren't), and even SITTS is stumped. Anyone else have this? For some follow up, the only person in the school that used Discover previously also lost his access when the upgrade was performed, anyone have anything I can tell our IT lead to get Discover working again?

2. We have a census due tomorrow, and while I have cleaned up all the data I found, I'm having an issue with attendance marks not being made by a few teachers - is there a way to identify immediately what students were not in at all on a given day that marks are missing and to automatically give them an N for the day? Is there a way to transfer over attendance marks based on whether a student was marked as present in the classes before/after the class? I'm trying to save myself hours of manual looking.