+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Accessing SIMS.Net database through ASP? in Technical; Hi, first of all can I say that I'm not a techy, I'm a teacher but I'm as much of ...

Thank Post

Accessing SIMS.Net database through ASP?

Hi, first of all can I say that I'm not a techy, I'm a teacher but I'm as much of a geek as you lot

I've got a system set up at school that works as an assessment tracker for the kids - it's basically a series of ASP pages linked to an Access database so I can set up tasks for the GCSE kids to do and then add their marks to it. That's simplifying it a little bit, but it's an overview.

A major problem looming is that in September I'm going to have to update all of the pupils in the database. The SIMs.NET database will be updated of course, so my plan is to somehow tap in to that...

I don't want to write to the SIMs database, just read from it from my webserver. Unfortunately, I haven't got a clue where to start. Has this been done by anyone on here before? Any pointers for help???

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Accessing SIMS.Net database through ASP?

Apparently we're not allowed to do that, a Capita restriction I believe. However you can use the Command Line Reporting Tool to export existing reports to CSV or XML format.

There is very little documentation for this - the best you'll get is running C:\Program Files\SIMS\SIMS .net\CommandReporter.exe with the /? switch.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Your not allowed to touch the Sims Database directly. It's not allowed in the EULA. However you can generate a CSV file with the information you require using the reports functionality. It should be fairly simple to process this with ASP.

Thank Post

Cheers for the info. Theoretically speaking then, although I'm not allowed to do it, would it be possible?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Yes, but your SIMS.NET license explodes.

Thank Post