+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, System Manager 7 in Technical; Hi All, I am a data manager in a large sec. modern. My IT department will not allow me to ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

System Manager 7

Hi All,

I am a data manager in a large sec. modern. My IT department will not allow me to have Permissions to manage groups - as they feel it will be opening up the system too much!!

Anyway, I wanted to confirm my suspicion that it is possible to be added in to the SM7 group, then have my perms defined so that I could view and manage groups with much else.

Charlotte
    Last edited by ctaylor; 21st September 2011 at 04:07 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,268 Times in 861 Posts
    A competent SIMS system manager would know that it is indeed possible to enable you to mange groups and nothing else.

There are pre-defined permissions groups in SIMS for a variety of common job roles, but custom ones can be created that allow a lot of flexibility as to the exact areas accessible and even whether these are read only access or whether you can edit them (in many cases, whether you can edit all details in that area or just your own!)

The problem is, quite often the IT team that manage the SIMS permissions do not actually use SIMS themselves so don't really understand the request and so you find yourself in a situation like yourself whereby a blanket "no" is given to requests for raised privileges.

I would try having an informal talk to them, if that fails contact your local SIMS support team (if you have one) and ask them to have a word. Your last resort should be your line manager/SLT - it is ridiculous to deny a Data Manager the ability to create groups in SIMS.
    Last edited by LosOjos; 21st September 2011 at 03:51 PM. Reason: clarity

3. Thanks to LosOjos from:

ctaylor (21st September 2011)

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Thank you very much for the reply.