+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Discover - recommended machine spec in Technical; This is my first time posting on Edugeek! I'm a data manager in a high school - I don't get ...

Thank Post

Discover - recommended machine spec

This is my first time posting on Edugeek!
    I'm a data manager in a high school - I don't get too involved in the techie side of things, my job is mainly data analysis.
    Has anyone come up with a realistic recommended spec for running Discover? I've asked our network manager to install it on my machine, and there was one of those sharp intakes of breath when he read SIMS' system requirements for this functionality, especially when he got to the part about 4 gig of RAM and a dedicated graphics card. No machine in the school has the capability to run this software. However, I read on SupportNet that people are running it successfully with lower spec machines. My computer has only onboard graphics and 1 Gb of RAM, so I guess as far as Discover is concerned it's a donkey.
    Any thoughts, comments, experiences?
    Thanks...

Thank Post
    Try it on your kit. We haven't found any obvious pattern. The release version is far faster than that of the trial.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,107 Times in 785 Posts
    @kabuki:

I would expect even someone who is a data manager to understand the basic principals of "More is better" based on the facts that Capita have given the workstation specifications as you have reported.

No wonder your NM had a sharp intake of breath, I would be looking at getting a new workstation with 4Gb Ram and a dedicated Graphics card as you will find that the more you use Discover the more you will want from it therefore increasing the workload of the workstation.

Common sense really ;D

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by bossman View Post
    @kabuki: