+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Problem printing reports in Technical; Before I begin with this problem description, I'll start with a caveat that I'm new to SIMS as a whole. ...
    Thank Post

Unhappy Problem printing reports

Before I begin with this problem description, I'll start with a caveat that I'm new to SIMS as a whole.

So, here we go:

We're having issues with one of our staff running reports through SIMS, essentially any time he selects/generates and prints a report it will work the first time through, but if he attempts to perform the same action (with a separate group of students) SIMS simply drops off the task after clicking "Print".

Winword.exe hangs about in task manager and will stay there until it's killed.
    It doesn't appear to hang and I've searched high and low to see if it's leaving any temporary files about that might be causing an I/O error but there's nothing that I can see.

I've spent some time searching for any SIMS related temporary files I've found a lot of XML files relating to the students filtered for the reports, I've attempted to delete these and rerun the Generate/Print action but the same issue persists, the status bar appears and SIMS begins going through the motions of printing the report then it falls over mysteriously and the only solution we have at the moment is to restart/relog the user's machine.

I'm sorry if this is all a bit vague but as I said, I'm new to all this SIMS malarkey and this is my first foray into trying to fix this issue, I've had a good search about the forum here but I'm still none the wiser.

Windows 7 32-Bit Professional and Office 2010 32-Bit

Thank Post
    Hello @UncleScar, and welcome.

To aid diagnostics can you confirm the following:

SIMS Version: 7.13? (Help > About SIMS .Net)
    Which reports: SIMS Reports (Reports > Run Report) or Individual Reports (Focus > Assessment > Individual Report)