+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Where to learn? in Technical; Hi.. I have a school asking me to support their SIMS network, but i have no experience at all with ...
    JW9

Thank Post

Where to learn?

Hi..

I have a school asking me to support their SIMS network, but i have no experience at all with it. I have 12 years experience in managing curriculum windows and apple networks.

I have spoken to Capita, briefly, but they arent very helpful. Maybe i am asking the wrong questions.

Where do i start? Is any training available? Can anyone recommend the right next steps?

Thanks in advance.

Thank Post
    You are facing a mammoth learning curve if you wish to acquire a sound enough knowledge base to support a school with SIMS. I guess that you should first find a friendly SIMS Partnership School fthat you can visit and view the system first hand. Then, LA SIMS Support Teams and Capita Support themselves run courses on all the different areas of functionality that SIMS has, but the size of the whole package means that there are many different courses needed to cover all the areas.

Most high end users that are proficient in all areas of the SIMS Software are usually those who have worked with the software for some considerable time and have grown with it! You really do need a working knowledge of the whole system to be able to understand it thoroughly.
    Last edited by Sivadam; 3rd March 2011 at 11:15 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,469 Times in 1,220 Posts
    As sivadam said, however, i presume they know that you know nothing. The only way to get going is to try it and learn as you go. That's how i started in my first job.

So long as they know what they are getting and that you'll be learning as you go, you just need someone to show you around it, at the school, and you can study the built-in docs and learn as you go. It would be better if you just worked there full time.

Where is their current support, can't you do half and half for a while..?