+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, SIMS Assessment Manager 7 in Technical; I've been hired by a local school to set up tracker marksheets using AM7. I'm a novice having had just ...

Thank Post

SIMS Assessment Manager 7

I've been hired by a local school to set up tracker marksheets using AM7. I'm a novice having had just one days training.

As far as User Friendliness is concerned, it is by far the worst application I have ever used!

I have 2 questions:

1 I am in ther process of creating templates. I've defined result sets for each half term period in each year.
    eg. Y9 Au1

I have defined Aspects for capturing the grades of each subject. eg. Eng Attainment. Having created a template for English Yr 9, I cloned it with a view of creating similar templates for the other subjects.

However, it seems that I can amend each column and change the result set but I cannot amend the Aspect!

Therefore each new template takes around a day to re-create.

Should I have created oner Aspect and incorporated the subject in the result set eg. Y9 Au1 Eng? By doing so I could then amend each cloned Template in a short time.

Or, can I run a SQL script against the database and simply change the name of the Aspect once I've cloned a new Template?

If so, does anyone have an example script. A database schematic would also be handy.

2 The school for which I'm working will shortly change its status and in theory become a new school. I've been told that we'll have to export data from the current school's database to the new school's using CTF.

Surely it's possible to back up the current school's database, restore it onto the new school's server and simply run a SQL script to change the identity (DCSF) of the records!

Any help would be gratefully received.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,168 Times in 797 Posts
    Welcome to edugeek dhance! And more importantly, welcome to SIMS...