+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, macros and Sims in Technical; Hi I'm a recent newbie on Sims having used it for about 10 weeks and been on 3 courses but ...

Thank Post

macros and Sims

Hi
    I'm a recent newbie on Sims having used it for about 10 weeks and been on 3 courses but I have a fair background in a previous job of oracle databases and unix (sadly no SQLserver or microsoft).

My question is when entering Add-ins type data reptitively into MS Word style templates e.g. Add-ins -> REsult Descirption - then picking and choosing appropriate grade/pupil data to report in, is it possible to record macros or write VB scripts which would do the sme as much of this is quite repetitive.

I tried recording a macro but it didn't seem to work when I went into the Add-Ins menu option in Word

Also how much do people get involved in the backend database for tasks or do you leave data entry /reporting tasks purely carried out via the front end screens (there was a vague mention of licensing agreements and accessing the DB directly - sorry if I appear naive asking this! ?

Cheers
    Chris

Thank Post
    Don't access it directly. Within SIMS .net, go Reports > Design Report.

I would recommend registering on SupportNet - http://support.capitaes.co.uk/websupport. There is alot of info on there, also within SIMS .net > Documentation. Your local LA\Capita can offer SIMS reporting which will do want to you.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,168 Times in 797 Posts
    Hi Chris,

like Matt said, don't access the DB directly, Capita don't like it, you'll get no support (without paying a hefty sum!) if you break it and it's so prone to change and has such a complicated structure, you're better off just steering clear and using the report builder in Sims.

As for recording macro's to add in fields to individual reports, as far as I'm aware it's not possible (though I'd gladly be proven wrong!)