+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 21 1234511 ... LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, School MIS Systems in Technical; I am new to Education as a Data Manager but have spent about 25 years in the IT industry as ...

Thank Post

School MIS Systems

I am new to Education as a Data Manager but have spent about 25 years in the IT industry as either a Software Developer or Information Analyst. My background has covered Systems Integration and Software Design for the Retail, Automotive, Insurance and Healthcare sectors (NHS).

My point - I am utterly appalled at the atrocious standard of Computer Software, Data Management & Processing techniques used in School MIS Systems.

We use Integris Classic which currently supports ODBC (Open Database Connectivity) access but the plan is to move our School over to the new Integris G2 system which doesn't support ODBC.

Did I miss something?.....A new system with reduced data access....No ODBC (a worldwide recognised industry standard)

Hold on a minute....I’m a Data Manager (or Data Consumer) how can I engage with my data and create reports?

How ridiculous - organisations in just about every other sector (for example the NHS who have immense targets to meet and report) develop their reporting systems using SQL Server, ODBC and Microsoft Access Databases - in other words they use proper relational database management systems (RDBMS) technology instead of these dysfunctional Assessment Worksheets/Markbooks.

Why not borrow good ideas from one of the world’s largest organisations!!!

I hear you say: “But I don’t know anything about SQL or databases?”
    I reply: “Why are you a Data Manager then?”

Question: Why are there so many people employed in Local Education Authorities (who know nothing about Software, Data Management or Data Processing Techniques) and deciding which MIS systems to deploy in their local Schools?