+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, fingerprint registration (or similar) in Technical; anyone using fingerprint scanners for registration? If so any views on them??? We are using ePortal at the mo for ...
    Thank Post

fingerprint registration (or similar)

anyone using fingerprint scanners for registration? If so any views on them??? We are using ePortal at the mo for registering classes.

Thanks

(PS not sure if this is in the right place)

Thank Post
    We're due to bring this in shortly (next couple of months) - will keep you informed if you want.

Thank Post
    Hi

We use it for the library.

Richard

Thank Post
    we have it for the canteen, i dont agree with it, violation of a humans rights, unless they can opt out and u tell them. if you fail to tell them then you, in my opinoun shouldn't be in a school. there not all too reliable.

while i was a student my 6th form had them, i of course put my foot down and refused to have my prints taken. done nothing wrong, but whats wrong with my name??? surely thats good enough for registration??? if thats the case then there's no need for finger prints and you need to run it thought your data protection policy.

Thank Post
    We try to use them in the library, but they need to be spoon-fed the first letter or two of the kid's name before they can find it in the list of approx 2000 people.

I had an amusing demo of a DRS system at BETT a couple of years back where the guy could NOT get the damn thing to recognise my fingerprint. He was even getting me to put my finger on it upside down!! Absolute bobbins!

The benefits for registration as I see it are:
    • difficult to forge a fingerprint
    The drawbacks are:
    • cost of readers
    • slower than ordinary register (someone still needs to check that the person has been recognised correctly so your form tutor saves no time)
    • time taken to do initial captures
    • breakable
    • additional complexity (installation & support)