+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, copy SIMS data in Technical; Hello Everyone, I am new to SIMS.net and what I want to do is create a training SIMS Database for ...

Thank Post

Question copy SIMS data

Hello Everyone,

I am new to SIMS.net and what I want to do is create a training SIMS Database for myself to play around with. I would like to do this with a copy of the live SIMS Database. Is there a way to safely copy the whole SIMS data from the live system without interfering with anything else? Would restoring a backup of the SIMS mdf and ldf files onto a different location work? I would then copy these files onto my laptop/desktop to setup my training SIMS database.

Thanking you in advance

Thank Post
    If you're a newbie to MSSQL server management then I'd strongly suggest that anything you do there you do first on a test / sample database, not live data.

In theory you should be able to backup SIMS and restore the database under a different name then be able to poke that database as much as you like with minima risk to the SIMS db. Even better would be if you could do the restore on a physically separate box as that (I think) eliminates any risk to the live db.

Depending on your long-term goals here it may be worth finding out any licensing issues that may trip you up later (Capita can be quite protective of "their" database schema so I hear). The last thing you want is to spend time creating something that you are then told you're not allowed to use. You might want to investigate using the commandreporter.exe tool (allows you to run SIMS reports from the DOS prompt) as an alternative way of extracting your data.

Good luck finding your way. I hear that the database is an unholy mess of hundreds of barely normalised tables. The commandreporter may actually end up being easier to use (though slightly less flexible), and still gives you access to SIMS's internal ids for some fields if you need them if you export as xml. Good luck.

Hello
    :-Dave